California | Employment Law
Legal Question
In California can an employer demand employees to speak English only while at work?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
Yes. |
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
Yes. And should. |
|
Read More Answered By: Raven Sarnoff |
Actually, the law is not that simple, and there are situations in which English-only policies are unlawful. (I will include citations to the law here since there seems to be a difference of opinion between myself and other attorneys responding to this post.)
Employer rules requiring employees to speak English at all times on the job may constitute discrimination based on national origin because “non-English speakers cannot enjoy the privilege of conversing on the job if conversation is limited to a language they cannot speak.” (Garcia v. Spun Steak Co. (9th Cir. 1993) 998 F2d 1480, 1488; see also Garcia v. Gloor (5th Cir. 1980) 618 F2d 264, 269; Maldonado v. City of Altus, Okla. (10th Cir. 2006) 433 F3d 1294, 1303 (English-only policy allegedly created hostile work environment for Hispanic workers); and 29 CFR § 1606.7 (EEOC Guideline on “English only” workplace rules).)
Such a rule may be upheld, however, where (i) justified by “business necessity” and (ii) the employees have adequate notice of the restriction. (29 CFR § 1606.7; see EEOC v. Synchro–Start Products, Inc. (ND IL 1999) 29 F.Supp.2d 911, 913.) An “English only” rule may be proper where necessary to safe and efficient operation of the business and no alternative practice will accomplish the business purpose equally as well with less discriminatory impact. This may apply, for example in work involving a high risk of injury or accidents (e.g., during surgery, or at a laboratory, oil drilling site, mining or construction site); where necessary to enable English-speaking supervisors to monitor employee communications to ensure efficient work and appropriate behavior (See 29 CFR § 1606.7); or where necessary for communication with customers, coworkers and supervisors who speak only English (See EEOC Guidance issued 12/2/02, 2002 USLW 2376).)
So to put it more simply, whether a workplace “English only” policy is unlawful depends on whether there is a legitimate business necessity, especially safety, for the policy. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13878
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10401
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2058
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Joseph La Costa
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 538
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
Search Questions and Answers


