California  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
12/30/11, 2:58 pm

Legal Question


In California, is it a form of discrimination for a nightclub to not accept other forms of ID other than the CA Driver's License? At our favorite venue, our friends who have a Matricula Card only are being denied entrance to the club, although this card confirms they are over 21. We feel that any government issued ID should be accepted. It's age they are trying to verify, not immigration status. Even if some of these regulars are in the US illegally, but have identification to prove they are over 21, is it discrimination for the bar to refuse their entrance?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search