California  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/29/12, 6:53 am

In California, my stepson and his wife can no longer live together, and will be seeking a divorce. The husband will be seeking to get joint custody in the future once the dust has settled, but right now he is living out of a car. Until a formal decision has been made regarding child support payments, the husband has utilized a child support payment calculator to determine an amount. The wife is seeking welfare benefits from the state to help take care of the three children. However, she says that she has been told that in order for her to receive the full welfare benefits, she must have full physical custody of the children; and he is concerned that if he grants that, it may set a precedent when formal custodial arrangements are made.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

153 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search