Georgia | Employment Law
Legal Question
Called DOL with a non-payment of overtime issue. DOL ruled that I was not an exempt employee and was entitled to overtime. However the supervised settlement worked out by DOL for back pay works out to 1/2 time for hours worked instead of time and one half. Is there some exclusion factor which would permit this? I was originally paid a flat salary per week and occasionally ran out of work or finished a job ahead of schedule and was permitted to stand-by until the next job assignment came through. I have as yet not accepted the check offered by employer until I can get an answer.


