Pennsylvania | Insurance Law
Legal Question
I have a car insurance policy with my 18 year old son on the policy, can my 20 yo son drive the car as a permitted occasional drive without being added to the policy
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Andrew Solomon |
First, the insurance company has the right to know what licensed drivers live with you. You should be honest in advising them that your 20 year old lives with you, if that is the case. They will take this into consideration in figuring your premiums, and will want know what cars, if any he drives. If you say "none", then the insurance company may require you to declare the 20 year old as a non-permitted driver, in which case if he has an accident, the insurance company will not pay. On the other hand, a lot depnds on the 20 year old's past driving history, and whether it includes moving violation, accidents, etc. If not , the insurance company might not ask for th is limitation. If that is the case, and so long as he lives in your household, and insurance company knows, you are probably OK so long as he has the owner's permission to drive the car. You should be honest with the insurance company, to make sure that you and your sons are covered in the event of an accident. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
DIAMONDLAWYER
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Richard K. Teitell, Esquire, P.C.
Bala Cynwyd, PA
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-31
Cohen, Placitella & Roth, P.C.
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Senker Law Office
Plymouth Meeting, PA
Questions Answered: 235
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


