Georgia | Credit and Debt Law
2/03/12, 6:47 pm
Legal Question
If my car was repossed, can the finance company garnish my wages for the balance owed on the car
If my car was repossed, can the finance company garnish my wages for the balance owed on the car
|
Read More Answered By: Glen Ashman |
Your question is disturbing because it tells us that you never bothered to read your car sales contract before you signed it and bought your car.
The answer is right there. After the repossession, the company usually will sell the car at a huge loss, then sue you for that loss, plus attorneys fees, repo fees, storage fees, ad fees, court costs, etc. Your wages and bank accounts can then be garnisheed, and any other assets you have (car, home, personal property) can be seized.
There is an important lesson here - never ever sign anything you have no read and understood. And if you don't understand something take it to a lawyer before signing. |
|
Read More Answered By: Rachel Hunter |
Yes, if the car lender or its assignee gets a judgment against you.
Depending on when the car was repo'd and if the lender/its assignee has sued you, you may have some time. Start saving your funds now. Since the car was sold, the deficiency remaining is an unsescured debt and can be settled, but you need to start preparing.
If you are interested in protecting yourself and resolving your debts in a non-bankruptcy setting, please contact me at rachelforjustice@hotmail.com.
|
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 8777
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5579
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 3531
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-27
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 2699
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Lithonia (east Metro Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 189
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-24
Alpharetta, GA
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Decatur, GA
Questions Answered: 136
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-13
► If I am married can my spouse legally open an account in my name without my constent
► I missed my answer date in small claims court. Can I still file a counter claim?
► I am receiving phone calls from people saying that I owe money to on line loans. I...
► Can you take a company to court for continuely going into your banking account...
► In haggling with a debt collector they stated there is a federal law preventing them...
► If there is a lien on your home, and the home is foreclosed on, when the property...
► Our home was foreclosed on and sold in a non-judicial auction infront of the...
More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Georgia| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press