Illinois | Medical Leave
Legal Question
I am a caregiver for my grandfather do I need to let my employer know?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Betty Tsamis |
It depends. Are you seeking time off from work to take care of your grandfather? If so, you need to check with your company to see what leave options you have which could include unpaid time off pursuant to the FMLA. Although the FMLA allows unpaid time off to care for a sick parent, spouse or child (in addition to yourself), it does not specifically protect for time off to care for a grandparent with a serious medical condition. However, if the grandparent raised you and has served as more of a "parent," you would have a good argument that you should be entitled to time off pursuant to the FMLA. Additionally, if the grandparent's illness has caused you depression and/or anxiety (for which you are under doctor's care), you could take FMLA time off. |
Top Attorneys in IL
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Tsamis Law Firm PC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 491
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Office of Jeffrey Friedman
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 194
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-24
The Law Office of Paul R. Fine, P.C.
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 56
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-12-07
Taggart Morton
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-02
Scalambrino & Arnoff, LLP
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-06
Omoniyi Law Firm, P. C.
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-30
Sahgal Law Office
Oak Brook, IL
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-02-27
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Search Questions and Answers


