California  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
7/10/11, 12:22 pm

Legal Question


do i have a case?

root canal performed Dec '10 -- lower right molar #30 -- 3-4 roots in tooth, not 2 -- broke instrument (RC file) half way down 1 root -- was informed by dentist and he recommended finishing, leaving instrument behind -- i had continuous, slight pain, some difficulty chewing for 2-3 mths -- went back in, x-rayed, was told it was bite problem -- ground a little off crown -- problem continued -- at 5 mths, significant pain, swelling, couldn't chew on right side of mouth -- went in again, was told it could be instrument or fracture, but couldn't tell from x-ray if it was a fracture -- was also told by my dentist i would be referred to an endo for eval -- called my dentist back for referral, but dentist's partner intervened and said tooth was fractured and needed to be extracted -- my dentist offered to apply cost of root canal and crown ($1300) to the cost of extraction, implant, and another crown ($4800), leaving me with a bill of $3500 for their mistake -- i forced the issue and got a referral to a root canal specialist -- result was specialist said no evidence of fracture, there was probably a 4th root that my dentist didn't even see, and the broken instrument was causing infection (abscessed furcation) -- tooth is not salvageable and specialist recommends extraction, implant, and crown -- specialist wrote letter stating this which is in my possession -- also have in my possession a copy of x-ray clearly showing instrument in root -- currently on antibiotics -- gums are swollen -- can't chew on right side at all -- constant pain -- loss of sleep -- effecting daily performance -- etc, etc, etc.

not sure if this meets negligence criteria -- if they had done a competent root canal, i wouldn't have any problems, or incur any more expenses -- going on 7 mths now and probably will continue to get worse -- antibiotics have only been minimal help

insurance (HMO) precludes me from seeing another dentist without losing the offer on the table from my current dentist -- based on their previous performance, i don't really want these guys doing anything to my tooth -- ideally, i believe my dentist should pay the entire cost for another qualified endodontist to extract tooth, put in implant, and crown and/or whatever else you think might be applicable

it's not that he broke an instrument, but it looks like he missed the 4th root entirely and he had 3 opportunities to make it right -- 1) when it happened, 2) when i went in the first time with pain and he said it was a bite problem, and 3) when i went in the latest time and finally got a referral to somebody who actually knows what they're doing.

please advise -- will answer any questions

thank you


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search