Pennsylvania  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
10/03/11, 11:47 am

Legal Question


I have a cerfified letter sitting at the post office in Allegheny County from a company called Ability Recovery near Scranton PA. I called the Lackawanna County Court Records office asking if there was anything filed under my name and they and they told me there is nothing pending against me in their courts. My question is can Ability try to serve a complaint directly to me through certified mail register the writ in a county other than the one the plaintiff or defendant reside? What I don't want to happen is if this is an attempt to serve a complaint and I don't sign for the letter and then they clain taht I refused service and try for a judgment that I wouldn't know about until after this happens. Can they serve the complaint directly? I thought only an officer of the court can do that. Also, is there a way for me to scan all court records in all PA counties to see is seomthing is registered I don't know about?

Any help is appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search