California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
What are MY chances for applying for a mortgage loan within the next 6 months after my EX has short sold his property with a loan I was attached to at the time? I have a Divorce Decree in which he was awarded the property and loan attached to it, and he releases me of all liability and holds me harmless against any action that may arise from default, short sale, and/or foreclosure and I have completed an inter-spousal transfer so my name is off the deed/title. We have been divorced for over two years and he had no problems paying the mortgage on time for over 24 months without my help. Yes, he tried to do a loan assumption and mod. but was denied for having too high of a debt to income ratio. Do I have any options?


