Minnesota  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
2/03/12, 9:46 am

Legal Question


I have yet to be charged with a DWI, lag time for blood I guess, but my question pertains to something else that occurred while being transported first to booking/testing and then to HCMC for the blood work. I was handcuffed (not under arrest as I stated yet to be charged) Was not read rights before leaving the scene if alleged infraction.

While being transported by Hennipin counties finest both at 30MPH and freeway speeds of 60MPH, despite my numerous requests to be seatbelted for my personal safety they did not. I was told "we are almost there. this was between the hours of 10PM and 2AM prime time for drunks!!!! Is it routine for peace officers/public servants to refuse a request for safety? Or to disregard a state law that every passenger should be belted safely? Is there precedent in the state on Minnesota? And do I have a case? (No doubt if we were in an accident)


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search