Nevada | Criminal Law
Legal Question
if im being charged with recieving money under false pretence and the victim recieves payment to pay off said amount for charge. can the court still charge me with the crime?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: James Smith |
Once the charge is filed it is up to the prosecutor, not the victim, to go forward on the case. You can ask the victim to request a dismissal for the reason he was paid back, but it's really up to the prosecutor or the judge to dismiss the case. Receiving money under false pretenses is the crime that the prosecutor is wanting to stop, not necessarily repayment to this one victim. Although in a civil case payment may conclude the matter, not in a criminal case. |
Top Attorneys in NV
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Fischer Sanders, LLP
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 76
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Robert A .Grayson
Carson City, NV
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-11
Joseph A. Scalia & Associates
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-11-05
Carr Law Office
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-04
Search Questions and Answers


