Texas | Family Law
1/04/12, 7:21 am
Legal Question
When can a child legally decide where they want to live in the state of Texas?
When can a child legally decide where they want to live in the state of Texas?
|
Read More Answered By: Bob Leonard |
When the child is 18. Before then, if there is a pending case involving the parents, a parent can ask the judge to talk to the child. If the child is 12 or older, then the judge is required to talk to the child. If younger, then the judge can decide if he or she wants to talk to the child.
A word of warning: Many judges do not want the child involved in the case and will be unhappy with the parent that asks that the child be involved. Other judges are just fine with it. Part of your attorney's job is to know the judge's attitudes about things such as this. Having the judge talk to the child frequently does not go well for the person asking. |
|
Read More Answered By: M. Elizabeth Foley |
If you mean decide to move out of a parent's house altogether, 18. If you mean decide which parent the child would prefer to live with, once the child turns 12, there is a procedure by which the child can talk to the family court judge on the subject and usually the judge will let the child live with the parent of prefererence unless there is some kind of issue there that would indicate the child's preference should be overridden. |
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1632
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-19
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1564
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 922
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 651
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-04
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
► What happens to someone who secretly marries another wife before divorce the other
► Is there a legal separation document when my soon to be ex husband wants to buy...
► Grandmother has legal guardianship of her granddaughter. Mother is in jail and hasnt...
► A grandmother, who has guardianship of her 7 yr old granddaughter because her...
► I was divorced in 2006 which stated in my SPO to get my children on Dec 26th at...
► How can I change my son's last name to my last name legally?
► Father wants his children his mother has conservator rights to his children due to...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Texas| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press