Virginia | Family Law
2/06/12, 2:44 pm
Legal Question
if a child is in the sole custody of a third party can parental rights be taken from one parent but not the other in the event of adoption?
if a child is in the sole custody of a third party can parental rights be taken from one parent but not the other in the event of adoption?
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
No, assuming this third party is the prospective adopter of this child, the parental rights of both parents would need to be terminated as part of the adoption process (in my opinion). |
Alexandria,
Questions Answered: 20729
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lynchburg, VA
Questions Answered: 934
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-03
Vienna,, VA
Questions Answered: 676
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Glen Allen, VA
Questions Answered: 441
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-28
Fairfax, VA
Questions Answered: 434
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-23
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 415
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-21
Culpeper, VA
Questions Answered: 172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Dunn Loring, VA
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-04-11
Virginia Beach, VA
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-09-08
► My husband would like to adopt my son. How can I prepare to talk to the lawyer? What...
► I am a stepfather of 14yrs my soon to be wife decided to get back with convicted...
► If my stepchild's father's name is shown in the birth certificate, but she was born...
► How can I adopt a child that I already have legal custody of
► My husband and i have been seperated for 8 months one night he call and came over...
► Virginia Child Support Order - My son's father is behind on the support order about...
► Hi I am separated from my spouse since early October. We have a 7 year old son...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Virginia| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press