North Carolina | Elder Law
Legal Question
are the children of an elderly parent financially responsible for the debt incurred for nursing home care
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Rachel Hunter |
Yes and no. It depends on the debt and what was signed. If its a nursing home obligation, then its possible that the children may have signed something, but in the absence of this the parent is liable, not the children.
If the parent is deceased, the children are not directly liable, but it depends on what assets are in the parent's estate. The estate would be responsible for the debts; the heirs cannot receive asets like a house or car or other valuables and not pay any creditors, so in that sense the children would be indirectly responsible. Also, if Medicaid paid out any funds, then Medicaid is obligated to seek recovery from the parent's estate. |
Top Attorneys in NC
The Wallace Law Firm
High Point, NC
Questions Answered: 258
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Brady, Nordgren, Klym & Morton, PLLC
Raleigh, NC
Questions Answered: 42
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-14
Elliott Law Firm, PC
Huntersville, NC
Questions Answered: 32
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-25
Law Offices of Cheryl David
Greensboro, NC
Questions Answered: 20
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Davis Elder & Disability Law Services
Lewisville, NC
Questions Answered: 20
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-11-22
The Elderlaw Firm
Greensboro, NC
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-07
Ennis Law Firm, PC
Wilmington, NC
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-12-02
Davis Elder & Disability Law Services
Lewisville, NC
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
TrustCounsel, P.A.
Chapel Hill, NC
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Davis ELDER & DISABILITY LAW SERVICES
Wilkesboro, NC
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


