California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
1/06/12, 12:57 pm

Legal Question


I had a civil judgment made against me for $27,000 from Progressive Insurance for a car accident. Last year the amount was paid down to $16,000 and on the 30th of December (2011) a levy was placed on my bank account and my rent money for January was removed. I am unemployed so coming up with $700 a month is a struggle to say the least. Is there any way I can have freeze on monies that I need to deposit into my account to pay for bills like gas, electric, phone, rent and possibly food? I spoke with my bank's legal department and they said each time the levy request is sent by Progressive all money I have in my account has to be removed. I never have any more than what my rent is and extra money for bills in my bank account. Maybe $900 at the most and that is only when I have money for food usually it is $700 the exact amount I need for rent. Is there any way to be able to legally freeze a base amount in my bank account for my bills mainly rent? I also need to be able to deposit money from checks that I get from odd jobs during the month until I can find part time or full time work. Those amounts are never much usually $40 to $100 but that is how I am able to live. Do I have any legal recourse at all? Thank for in advance for any help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search