Connecticut | Business Law
Legal Question
Can I claim conflict of interest if a personal attorney for my co-member intends to preside over a LLC dissolution meeting in the interest of the company?
On a similar note, can my co-member partner claim that attorney's fees as part of the company's debt? The point of the meeting will be to pay off creditors and distribute remaining assets.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Roman Fichman Esq. |
You did not specify whether you are a managing member, whether the attorney has been acting as the attorney for the company in the past, what is your relative membership interest and what is the membership interest of your co-member and whether the operating agreement touches upon this issue. All those would be material to answer the question whether the attorney might have a conflict of interest.
Since you are concerned about the impartiality of the process, you could propose that a new impartial attorney be appointed to oversee the dissolution process.
In the alternative, you can propose to have your own attorney present to make sure that the distribution of funds is done equitably and in accordance with the operating agreement and state law. You can suggest that your co-member pay for his/her attorney and you pay for yours.
It is not uncommon to have several attorneys present at such proceedings and would be a reasonable request that each of the members pay for their own legal counsel.
Feel free to contact my office at your earliest convenience if you require additional information.
I am a admitted to practice in Connecticut. Roman R. Fichman, Esq. www.TheLegalist.com │ @TheLegalist email: Info (@) TheLegalist (dot) com t e l : 2 1 2 -- 3 3 7 -- 9 8 3 7
Disclaimer: This post has been written for educational purposes only and was not meant to be legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice or be relied upon. The post may contain errors, inaccuracies and/or omissions. You should always consult an attorney admitted to practice in your jurisdiction for specific advice. This post may be deemed as Attorney Advertising. |
Top Attorneys in CT
Linda A. Subbloie, Esq.
New Haven, CT
Questions Answered: 1354
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
ADAMUCCI, LLC
Stamford, CT
Questions Answered: 546
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-16
Ruth Emily Kochard, Counselor at Law
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 415
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-21
Rosenberg & Press L.L.C.
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Law Practice of Roman Fichman Esq.
Manhattan, NY
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Serrano & Serrano, LLC - Connecticut Accident, Social Security & Divorce Lawyers
West Hartford, CT
Questions Answered: 119
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-03
Rosenberg & Press, LLC
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 75
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
B-Law LLC
Tillamook, OR
Questions Answered: 54
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-17
Law Office of Daniel Kryzanski
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 48
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-05
Nachman & Associates, P.C.
Ridgewood, NJ
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-12
Search Questions and Answers


