Arizona | Business Law
Legal Question
If one clause in a contact is NOT legal, does that negate the whole contract? I know I can just cross that clause out and initial it but I would rather the Co. write up a whole new contract.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Donald W. Hudspeth |
I would like to see the contract. Generally, an invalid clause would only invalidate the contract as to a claim arising out of that provision, particularly because most professionally drawn contracts have a "survival" or "severance" clause which express states that the unenforceability of one provision does not render the rest of the contract unenforceable.
So, based on what I know it appears that you could open the door to negotiate a new contract if the clause in question would be the most likely basis for a later dispute. Then once the door was opened because (if) you both need that provision fixed, you would accept the fix in the key provision only as part of a more "global settlement." Might work.
Good luck! Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C. 3030 North Central Avenue, Suite 604 Phoenix, Arizona 85012 Direct DWH@azbuslaw.com AzBusConsulting@aol.com Firm TheFirm@azbuslaw.com Ph 602.265.7997 Fax 602.265.6099 Web site www.azbuslaw.com follow us on Twitter at DonaldWHudspeth
|
Top Attorneys in AZ
Donald T. Scher & Associates, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 1356
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
PALOMINO LAW FIRM, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 411
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-14
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Warren R. Markowitz, Esq
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 245
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
zimmermann nielsen & colleagues
Mesa, AZ
Questions Answered: 148
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-28
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Private Practise
Mumbai, NUS
Questions Answered: 114
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-19
Lance S. Davidson, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Law Office of Scott W. Hyder, PLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 52
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-08
Search Questions and Answers


