Florida | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
If I own climbing gear and someone offers to watch it for me for free and he is negligent with the gear and it breaks does the guardian have to pay for the broken gear?
If I own climbing gear and someone offers to watch it for me for free and he is negligent with the gear and it breaks does the guardian have to pay for the broken gear?
|
Read More Answered By: Brent Rose |
Yes, asking someone to watch something for you is called a "bailment." If someone is negligent in acting under a bailment (which means they failed to use due care), they are responsible for the replacement cost of the property in its used condition. |
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7773
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1810
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Coral Gables, FL
Questions Answered: 806
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-12
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 709
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-24
► If I'm an out of state defendant how do I get notice there is a case against me? Can...
► I sold a vehicle to a family member. We had a written agreement that they would pay...
► A company owes us money and has just sent us a lien waiver to sign before they will...
► I am being sued and the other side just won a summary judgment for damages. Can the...
► My husband has a judgement against him while he worked money was garnished from his...
► I cosigned for an apartment for my grandson to go to college, now he can't afford...
► Can a church that is incorporated file an injunction without an attorney? We are a...
More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press