Nevada | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
I am close to the age of retirement but I'm having trouble paying my mortgage, can the bank attach my retirement if I file for bankruptcy ?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Dorothy Bunce |
If you maintain your checking account at the same bank that your mortgage is with, it is possible. Even though federal laws protect your mortgage, a clause in your contract with the bank may say that you agreed to allow them unlimited access to your account to pay for any loans you also have with the bank. So if this is the situation, I would urge you to move your checking account to another bank for your own protection.
Of course you know that if you don't pay your mortgage, at some point the mortgage company can foreclose on your home. However, there are strategies that you could use to extend the amount of time you can stay in your house rent free if it should come to that.
Hope this perspective helps! |
Top Attorneys in NV
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
A Fresh Start
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 330
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-06
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
John Peter Lee, Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 78
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Offices of Robert A .Grayson
Carson City, NV
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-11
Joseph A. Scalia & Associates
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-11-05
Search Questions and Answers


