Pennsylvania | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Do collection agencies have the right to garnish debtors wages
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Rachel Hunter |
It depends on where the debtor is located and it depends on the kind of debt. If the debtor lives in a debtor friendly state like Pennsylvania or North Carolina, then no for most kinds of debt like credit cards and such. If the debtor lives in a state like Georgia, wage garnishment is allowed. There are limits as to how much can be garnished.
It also depends on the kind of debt. For example, even though wage garnishment is not generally allowed for things like a credit card debt in Pennsylvania, garnishment is allowed for child support, and taxes. Its also allowed for judgments for back rent owed to a landlord or student loan debt. Below is a list:
1) where there is a judgment for spousal or child support;.
2) for recovery of defaulted PHEAA student loans;.
3) for restitution on criminal matters;.
4) for back rent on a residential lease;.
5) for obligations relating to a final divorce distribution;.
6) for certain tax obligations.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Greg Artim |
to follow up on this answer, if you fail to defend the lawsuit which is sure to arrive, and the collection agency obtains a judgment, then your bank account will be subject to garnishment, even if it contains wages. The wage garnishment protection only means that they cannot garnish wages while the employer still has the wages.
Defend the lawsuit when it comes by hiring a consumer law firm. Your odds of winning in Western Pa are phenomenal. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Hunter Law Office
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 2699
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Rosner Law Firm P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Gerald M. Hershenson
Yardley, PA
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-08
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Search Questions and Answers


