California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
4/05/11, 2:09 pm

Legal Question


A company operates openly for several years as Jones Real Estate. They have other names such as Jones LLC, Bob Jones Real Estate Services etc that are used for various reasons. They have no DBA or service mark for any name. They then sell Jones Real Estate to a big company who says they are buying all service marks whether registered or unregistered incxluding any combination of Jones LLC, Jones Real Estate, Bob Jones Real Estate. The name Jones Real Estate goes unused for more than 3 years. The Web page and domain name is dropped as are all corporate names or LLC names. Then a broker quits and starts his own frim with the name Bob Jones Real Estate. He acquires the domain name, the DBA for his county and applies for a service mark ,which is available. Then he gets a cease and desist letter from a big law firm who says he is using their service marks unlawfully. They want him to assign them his domain name and drop the service mark registrationWhat should he do? Does the law firm have a good case for their client?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search