Pennsylvania | Employment Law
Legal Question
If a company has outlined in their policy book regarding paid holidays and they specify which holidays you will get paid for, can they say they will not pay you when that holiday falls on a Sunday when you are not normally open?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sharmil McKee |
Probably yes. I assume that the other holidays fall on days when the business is normally open. The law does not dictate whether employees receive a bonus for holidays or not (unless the worked hours fall into overtime.) Therefore, the law only enforces the promises that an employer makes to an employee. So, if your employer chooses to pay you a bonus for holidays that fall only on days that the business is normally open, the law probably will allow them to do so. I want to be clear, however, you are entitled to at-least minimum wage for every hour that you actually work, regardless if that day is a holiday or a Sunday.
If you are a company, and if you are changing your holiday pay schedule, then I would advise that you should post the new schedule with as much advance notice of the change as possible. I would also recommend that if you produce an employee handbook, and your holiday pay schedule is published in this book, that you produce a revised employee handbook as soon as possible. \
Good luck. Sharmil McKee Business Attorney |
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Warren & McGraw, LLC
Blue Bell, PA
Questions Answered: 164
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Search Questions and Answers


