California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
6/11/11, 8:17 pm

Legal Question


If a company's employment agreement states that I must notify the company in writing of any new "inventions" of mine and I fail to do so, what are the possible consequences? What about pre-existing "inventions?" I live in California where my "inventions" (done on my own time, with my own equipment, not interfering with company's business) are protected by California Labor Code 2870. I am obviously asking about "inventions" which are done not on company time, nor on company equipment, and are unrelated to the company's line of business.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search