California | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
Can I be compelled to produce personal computer files and emails from my home computer in civil litigation? Where can I find resource information about my rights on this discovery request?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
It's a tricky area of the law. You might object based upon your and your correspondents' privacy rights and, of course, relevance. The request should be narrowly drawn so that you could appropriately determine what they're looking for. There's law in California that prohibits discovery fishing expeditions that cast a "wide net" in the hope of snagging something of value. The law library, of course, has a trove of information. You might review such treatises that summarize the law on discovery such as Witkin or Rutter Group. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13881
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10409
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2060
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


