California | Construction Law
2/07/12, 1:56 pm
Legal Question
is a concrete supplier ever considered to be a contractor?
is a concrete supplier ever considered to be a contractor?
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
Ever? Sure. If they set the forms, do the pour, and finish the surface, they're a contractor. If all they do is show up with a truck full of concrete and dump it where told, then they're not. On major engineering projects the general contractor may even establish their own on-site batch plant and become both the concrete supplier and the general contractor. |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
I guess the short answer would be yes. However, this is only because (a) any person or business can be or become a contractor based upon what they do, rather than what they call themselves, and (b) for some purposes, suppliers to a job have rights similar to contractors with respect to mechanics' liens and similar matters. So, I suppose really giving a definitive answer requires knowing "What happened?" and "For what purpose?" |
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Moraga, CA
Questions Answered: 898
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-26
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► Hi,i took a medical for 2 years now after a years I want a buy a property ,is the...
► What are my legal rights when a contractor is withholding my pay?
► I live in county not the city. I have 20 acres of property in an agriculture zone. I...
► I live in county not the city. I have 20 acres of property in an agriculture zone. I...
► California Business and Professions Code Section 7031: Bars any and all legal...
► Question: This is about a general contractor tried to collect the remaining balance...
► Question: Is it “Over Billing ”of service rendered? There was only one rate...
More Construction Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press