Virginia | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
Is it a conflict of interest for a judge to rule on a case where the arresting officer is a deputy sheriff in the same sheriff dept that provides protection for the judge. Could one conclude that a judge may be reluctant to rule against a deputy because it may limit the protection that may be giving said judge. A smart dog know not to bite the hand that feeds him. When you consider the strong brotherhood of members of the police I think there is a strong argument here.


