California | Elder Law
Legal Question
does conservatorship make me responsible for my father inlaws debt?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
Pre-existing debt, no. Only his assets and any income he may receive are available to pay his debts before and after you become conservator. Debts incurred once you are the conservator can be more tricky. Since conservatees rarely have a lot of money, transactions you enter into in your capacity as conservator will need to be carefully reviewed to make sure you are not taking on personal liablity, and in some cases, such as nursing homes for example, they will not accept the conservatee unless you agree to be personally responsible for any charges.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13879
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Law Offices of Michael A. Olden
Moraga, CA
Questions Answered: 898
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-26
Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 421
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Search Questions and Answers


