Texas | Family Law
Legal Question
I have contacted several attorney offices in Houston and have been denied help. My divorce was finalized over a year ago and I need to find a way to modify the existing decree. At the time my ex-wife initiated the divorce I was between jobs and I could not afford to drag out the proceedings since she knew I couldnt afford it. She was working and could afford to keep it going until I was homeless and destitute. Since then I did find work, but still can't afford to find a lawyer that can and will actually do something about the torture I am going through. My ex continues to lead me around by the nose and hold my daughter over my head. She limited the amount of time I can see her in the initial decree, and now refuses to simply be civil and allow me more time with her. I have complied by the decree up until now, but I need more time with my daughter. I work weekdays and cannot pick her up by 4pm in the afternoon. After leaving the office I dont even get up to her part of town until after 5pm, and then I am expected to have her home by 6pm. I get her 1 weekday per week, and weekends 1-3-(5). The other night I had my daughter over for the night and would have been bringing her to school in the morning. It was a night that was not agreed upon in the decree, but was an "unspoken" agreement we made about a month ago. Unspoken meaning that when I ask for something and my ex doesnt argue or rebutt it that its something she allows. When I sent my visitation calendar last month it included 2 extra nights and she didnt refuse it. The other night, at 1am after I and my daughter was sleeping, my ex shows up at my apt banging on the door with 3 police officers and took my sleeping daughter from her bed to go back to her moms house. Her actions are NOT at all for our daughters best interest, and just continues to be selfish and hurtful. She has no idea how this is going to affect our daughter as she gets older. She is only 3 now and none of this is healthy for her. I need a lawyer who will actually do something to stop this. I pay my child support, I worship my daughter; she is everything to me. I am tired of being treated like this by my ex who did nothing but hurt me and cheat on me through our nearly 8 year marriage. There has to be a lawyer out there who actually makes these issues cease because they are tired of seeing such destructive people win all the time. I need their help.


