Washington  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
1/27/12, 5:54 pm

Legal Question


How many continuances can be granted before a trial has to start and does it effect the statue of limitations for the crime?

I have friend who was charged with burglary. The prosecution has been granted several continuances because the accusers are now homeless and cannot be found. This has dragged on for almost a year now and the accussers and/or witnesses have not materalized. I beleive the statue of limitations for this crime is 3 years.

Does my friend have any recourse to prevent onging continuances? Do the continuances effect the statue of limitations?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search