Minnesota  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
12/05/11, 9:58 am

Legal Question


A couple friends & I broke into an abandoned roller skating rink & were arrested for 2nd degree burglary. We didn't take anything, the owners wrote a letter to the judge asking for us to not be charged harshly. I was 18 at the time & encouraged by my attorney to take the plea agreement which was to plead guilty & the judge would do a stay of adjudication. Several times I asked my attorney if this plea would affect my healthcare career goals & he assured me that with the stay of adjudication this would not show up on my background history. When I went to court the judge also told me to be grateful for this opportunity as I could continue to pursue my RN degree. I have lost my job working in healthcare due to my criminal background check & now I can't get an apartment due to this as well. The attorney I had at that time does not return my calls & I am wondering what I can do to get this off my record. Am I a candidate for expungement? Will this eventually go off my record, if so, how long? I feel that I was misrepresented/informed by both my attorney & the judge.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search