Maryland | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
I have court ordered restitution can I claim this on a bankruptcy
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
You must list all of your assets and liabilities in your bankruptcy filings. So you WILL list this debt and creditor (i.e. the "victim" to whom restitution is being paid; and /or the public or other entity to which restitution is being paid.
Whether or not the debt is dischargeable in bankruptcy is a tricky question that you really need to ask a lawyer about because it is fact-specific. Generally speaking, restitution orders are going to be discharged in bankruptcy unless the creditor files papers in the bankruptcy to determine thatotherwse. Depending on your motives for filing, your bankruptcy attorney can tell you estimates and realities related to that issue.. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Alton Drew, LLC
Frederick, MD
Questions Answered: 258
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-12
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Search Questions and Answers


