Texas  |  Family Law

question bubble
6/02/11, 3:48 pm

Legal Question


My cousin is 85 years old and has no other living relatives except for me. She has alzheimers and is in a retirement home. Years ago she adopted this attorney when he was 40 years old who is also the person she appointed to take care of her in her old age. We don't know why she adopted him other than maybe he told her legal matters would work better this way, save on expenses or maybe it looks more legal when he starts to do some of the things below.

I'm not sure he is acting in her best interest. He has already gotten 2 of her jaguar cars even when I offered to buy one of them. He has taken 2 of her fur coats from her house as well. I dropped in this week and he was frantically putting everything from her office into garbage bags and going through her closets and throwing away clothes that some of the family might want. She is not dead or even nearly dead. She has a good mind but just forgets occassionally.

I asked my cousin if she still trusted him and she said "No" She said she feels as though he is just waiting for her to die and just wants her money, which she has alot of! The nursing home she is in is not that nice and we would like her to be in a nicer place because she can afford it but he always comes up with excuses, probably because it will be more expensive which means less money from him in the long run.

I would like to know what my rights are as her cousin since I'm the only relative that has also been trying to look after her. The attorney doesn't want me around.

What are his rights as the person appointed to take care of her in her old age. Any other suggestions would be most appreciated!!

Thank you,

Kay


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search