Illinois  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/06/12, 1:57 pm

I am trying to create a list of "wants" to be used in negotiating my premarital agreement and have a question about child support. I live in the state of Illinois. I know I cannot, nor do I desire to, add language to change the amount of child support that would be due in the event of divorce. However, since I earn well more than the average family, does Illinois family/child law allow for a premarital agreement to dictate that amounts in excess of a reasonable amount that would be needed to care for the child(ren) be placed in trust for future college, or to help the child with a wedding or first home? This way, I would only be paying what my child really needs in support and also be saving for my child's future big-ticket needs. Does the state of Illinois have anything that protects higher earners in this way? Ultimately, applying the states typical child support percentages (20% for one child, 28% for two children, etc.) would ultimately be enough to support my child(ren), potential ex-wife, and her new husband, which cannot be what child support laws intended.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

102 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search