Pennsylvania | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Can a credit card company put a hold on a bank account that I have with my boyfriend (he is the one they were trying to get the money from) if we are not married?
Can a credit card company put a hold on a bank account that I have with my boyfriend (he is the one they were trying to get the money from) if we are not married?
|
Read More Answered By: Matthew Nahrgang |
Yes.
As long as his name is on it, they can freeze it. Then, they can take the balance unless you file a 3rd party property claim.
What may make more sense and be a permanent solution, is to consider a bankruptcy for him, if he is eligible.
I am more than happy to discuss that matter with him on a free initial basis.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Rachel Hunter |
Yes they can. If they have already taken the funds, then it is going to be virtually impossible to get the funds back unless you are able to prove that the funds really belonged to you. What I suggest is that he take his name off of the account.
He needs to get an online bank account or debit card through WalMart, Ready debit or someone else, or else he needs to get a bank account out of state at a very small community bank (not Bank of America, Wells Fargo or one of the big mega-banks that are in multiple states).
Your boyfriend needs to think about how he is going to resolve his debt. If he has a lot of debts, perhaps bankruptcy is the answer. If he is going to go this route, then he needs to file before he marries you if he is thinking about marriage. In such case, contact Mr. Nahrgang or other local counsel as I do not file bankruptcy in Pennsylvania.
There are alternatives to bankruptcy, depending on his circumstances. I also give free consults via email. Please have him contact me at rachelforjustice@hotmail.com if he is interested. |
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 2695
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Yardley, PA
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-08
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
► Can the commonwealth of pa try to collect a debt by turning into a collection agency...
► Hello: My name is Mitch and in 2006 my wife and I obtained a $120,000 mortgage for a...
► My townhouse association fee is only for trash & snow removal. I no longer...
► Hi, I got a letter from the Northampton County district's attorney office in regards...
► On my credit report az des child support appears twice with two different ballances....
► I am in Allegheny County PA and I think a collection agency is trying to serve me...
► I have a cerfified letter sitting at the post office in Allegheny County from a...
More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Pennsylvania| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press