California | Bankruptcy
10/03/11, 12:34 pm
Legal Question
i am a creditor. the debtor has filed for bankruptcy. how do i get a trustee?
i am a creditor. the debtor has filed for bankruptcy. how do i get a trustee?
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Stone |
The notice you received from the bankruptcy court should identify the trustee on the case and inform you of the time and place of the creditors' meeting. The notice should also contain information on how to file a claim form, although in many cases you the creditor will simply be out of luck. If there is fraud or other nondischargeable debt involved, contact me. |
|
Read More Answered By: Douglas A. Crowder |
In a Chapter 7 or a Chapter 13 case a Trustee is automatically appointed. In a Chapter 11 case (business reorganization) the debtor acts as its own trustee -- but you can file a motion to have a trustee appointed.
Douglas A. Crowder, Esq. Crowder Law Center 350 S. Figueroa Street # 190 Los Angeles, CA 90071 Tel. 800-455-1592 Fax 877-772-7094 dcrowder@crowderlaw.com |
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► What is the practical difference between doing a short sale and filing bankruptcy...
► I'm a consigner for some for my son an i have another account en fl. i don't have a...
► After retaining a bankruptcy lawyer and informing all the companies that I owed...
► If you owe back pay to the Employment Development Department (EDD) can it be...
► I have filed chapter 13, pro se. Prior to the filing, a creditor had executed a...
► My husband is preparing to file a BK on his business of 6 yrs. My question is: Will...
► Hello. My parents are in there eighties and recently filed for bankruptcy chapter 7....
More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press