California | Credit and Debt Law
7/15/11, 6:02 pm
Legal Question
can the creditor force a sale of my home in a civil judgement against me?
can the creditor force a sale of my home in a civil judgement against me?
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
Conceivably, but it usually doesn't come to that if it's a relatively small amount of money you owe to the creditor. In addition, many people these days have no equity in their homes, so a sale would be pointless. The creditor might simply record the judgment at the county recorder's office and, if in the future your home builds some equity and you try to refinance or sell, the creditor might wait in line to be paid from the refinancing or sale proceeds.
Then, again, if this is one of many creditors to whom you owe money, you might consider other options, including filing for bankruptcy protection. |
|
Read More Answered By: Roy Hoffman |
It is possible, however, before a sale can occur, the creditor must apply to the court for an order allowing the sale, must overcome whatever homestead exemption exists, must pay all encumbrances and must pay the sheriff it's fees for a levy and the costs of sale. If, after paying all of the foregoing any proceeds remain, they can be applied to the judgment. The process is very, very time consuming and expensive, and usually only occurs if you have a great deal of equity in the property. |
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Elk Grove, CA
Questions Answered: 892
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-27
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► Me and my Mom have a Joint Account. Mom passed away and I decided to remove her name...
► Am being sued by a credit card company. i failed to pay. it has been over 5 years....
► My mother who is 89 and has Alzheimers and in a home has a credit card w/BofA for...
► Is Palisades collections allowed to practice law in the state of California?
► I have a couple of problems here, please help me. My fiance and I just broke up...
► I have credit card debt, and i can not afford to pay on my own or even file for...
► Is a creditor required to give me a receipt after every payment I make?
More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press