Alabama | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Can a creditor obtain a garnishment and drain my existing bank account to "0" while I am making payments towards fulfilling my debt obligation?
Can a creditor obtain a garnishment and drain my existing bank account to "0" while I am making payments towards fulfilling my debt obligation?
|
Read More Answered By: James Patterson |
A creditor can only garnish if they file a suit and get a judgment from the court. After they have done this, then they can garnish your bank accounts to pay off the judgment. |
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Foley, AL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 252
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-19
Tuscaloosa, AL
Questions Answered: 206
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-25
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-20
Mobile, AL
Questions Answered: 83
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-02
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 66
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-27
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 63
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-03
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
► Can they take my home for a credit card debt a lady called today and said I owed...
► I am being sued in small claims court by (allegedly) a debt collection agency...
► I was wonder if i can sue tmobile for allowing someone to open an account with my...
► If i cosigne a loan for a coworker and the coworker fails to pay and files...
► I loaned $5000.00. I have collected $3100.00 but the one I loaned the money to...
► In 1997 my check book was stolen i filed a police report and sent out letters of...
► I have been sued by 4 law firms for credit card debt. I have been out of work and...
More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Alabama| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press