Illinois | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
can a cretit burow ask more than i can pay them and still gannish my wages
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David K. Staub |
A creditor can ask for full payment. The creditor is entitled to garnish your wages within the limits imposed by law. The law sets out how much of your wages you are entitled to keep, free from garnishment. You may feel that is not enough, but unless you are under the protection of the bankruptcy court, you can't limit a creditor to what you feel that you are able to pay. |
Top Attorneys in IL
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Moens Law Offices, Chartered
Moline, IL
Questions Answered: 2176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.
Evanston, IL
Questions Answered: 1184
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
www.looplawfirm.com
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 694
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Thaddeus Hunt
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 190
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-12-12
Search Questions and Answers


