Connecticut | Family Law
Legal Question
Can a custodial parent move a child out of state without the other parents permission? There has been no court involvment to this date and the parents are not married.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: John Heffernan |
If there has been no court involvement to date there is no "custodial parent"; each has as much right to the child as the other until a court says otherwise. So, yes, either parent could remove the child fro CT at this point. The problem is that it will be CT court that decide with whom the child will live, and where, until the child has lived outside of CT for 6 months without court involvement. So, for example, if you took the child to Florida and within 6 months the other parent filed a motion in the CT court, it would be the CT court that would decide. After 6 months, with no filing here, Florida courts would get to decide. |
Top Attorneys in CT
Linda A. Subbloie, Esq.
New Haven, CT
Questions Answered: 1352
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Debra Palazzo, LLC
Hawthorne, NY
Questions Answered: 975
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-10
Heffernan Legal Group, LLP
West Hartford, CT
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
ADAMUCCI, LLC
Stamford, CT
Questions Answered: 546
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-16
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Ruth Emily Kochard, Counselor at Law
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 415
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-21
Rosenberg & Press L.L.C.
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Serrano & Serrano, LLC - Connecticut Accident, Social Security & Divorce Lawyers
West Hartford, CT
Questions Answered: 119
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-03
Rosenberg & Press, LLC
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 75
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Bonnie Lee MacDonald
Norwalk, CT
Questions Answered: 59
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Search Questions and Answers


