Pennsylvania | Family Law
Legal Question
My custody agreement in Pennsylvania states that the mother has primary physical custody but we have joint legal custody. I deploy in February 2012. As per the custody agreement, I have time with my son (20 months old) during certain hours over the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday, but it is stipulated in the agreement that the visitation is to be in the Harrisburg, PA area. I am an active duty soldier stationed at Ft. Bragg, NC. I just found out that I will have to be on-duty over the Thanksgiving holiday and will be unable to travel to Harrisburg. I pay $793 a month in child support to the mother. We have in the agreement that she and I can alter the agreement if we choose. She is stating she will not bring my son down to see me and therefore I will lose the time over Thanksgiving. It does not interfere with her work schedule and travel is not a risk to my son. Is there a provision with the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act or any other aspect of PA law that can entitle her to bring my son to me so that I may have the time with him as stipulated in the custody agreement?


