Florida | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
my Dad was developing an Airpark Community and died in a crash before it was completed. Since then (2007) we have gotten back about 8 lots that were owner financed, we have only sold two lots and we are out of money to complete the remaining waterlines. Now the board has hired an attorney because they say we should have been paying Association dues on all the lots that came back to us and all the unsold lots too. We don't have any money to do this. Before my dad died, he, being the developer, was exempt from Asso. dues. The Covenants don't address "owner financed" property coming back to the developer. We fully intend to finish the waterlines as soon as we can sell some property.


