Massachusetts | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My Dad died a few months back and my Mom is very ill. My parents owned their house jointly and when my Dad died my Mom owns the house individually. My parents have whats called a revocable trust. I recently meet with an attorney and he said that if my mom wanted to she could transfer the home into the trust that was created in 1996. He said we could put whats called a life estate into the deed so that she can live there for the rest of her life. Both of my parents were the creaters and trustees of the trust. The lawyer said that it would avoid the probate court if we did that. Is that correct?


