Arizona | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My dad died without a Will and I am a co-owner on his bank account. None of the other children are on the acct. do I have to split the money in the acct with the other children?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jeremy Claridge |
If the account was titled your dad "or" you, that money automatically passes to you. There is no legal obligation to use that money for dad's bills, funeral expenses, or share with your siblings. The real question is whether you want to enrage your siblings. If they know you have this money they will get really angry because they believe it is part of your dad's estate. If your dad has a big enough estate to fight over in court, your siblings will have an argument that the bank account was your percentage of an intestate inheritance. If it is more than you would have gotten under an intestate (without a will) inheritance, you may be precluded from sharing in the other assets your dad had. Your attorney will argue reasons why that money was given to you and is not part of the estate to be distributed to the kids under AZ intestate laws. Sorry about the passing of your dad. Just remember that when it comes to family, is the money really worth the fight and bad feelings? |
Top Attorneys in AZ
Donald T. Scher & Associates, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 1357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Jenkins Law Center PLC
Mesa, AZ
Questions Answered: 904
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-16
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Patterson Johnson-Stovall & Crenshaw PLLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Meyer Law Office
Chandler, AZ
Questions Answered: 141
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-23
Private Practise
Mumbai, NUS
Questions Answered: 114
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-19
Law Office of Scott W. Hyder, PLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 52
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-08
Weitz Law Firm, PLLC
Kirkland, WA
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-31
Search Questions and Answers


