Florida | Wills and Trusts
My dad has a durable power of attorney (DPA) where I am the attorney in fact. The Florida Department of Revenue said that they would not accept his DPA, that I would need to fill out their form DR-835. The DR-835 form is titled, "Florida Department of Revenue POWER OF ATTORNEY and Declaration of Representative." Why is the DPA not being accepted? My dad paid a lawyer to draw up the papers so he would not have to deal with this when something happened to him. Seems to me that a DPA is a worthless piece of paper. Can companies continue to not accept it?


