California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
My dad and I inherited a property from a relative, DCHS sent me a huge bill after she died, i didn't sell the property because it was paid in full and because the real state market went down; we tough it will be good to wait for it to recover and get a better price for the property. DCHS asked us to sign a voluntary lien on the property and make monthly payments until the total amount could be paid in full. I leased the property so I could pay the DHCS but some people keeps telling me that the property can be taken from me if I don't live in it, specially after 4 years from the date the lien started is this true? What kind of attorney should I contact? I've tried to find answers in real state or elder law but I haven't had luck with this, please help me. Thanks for your time.


