California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
12/29/11, 2:05 pm

Legal Question


My dad took a nasty fall at Kaiser Hospital around Thanksgiving, resulting in goose egg bump on head with skin scrapping, bloody knee, scuffed palms/elbows and knees. A couple days later, my dad was agonizing in pain when sleeping and/or trying to walk. Kaiser identified that it was a contusion relating to fall but pain level was 10+ and persisted for another week and a half. With drugs, its a constant 5. However, since the agonizing pain, his walking has been impeded and now he uses a walker (not before, he was even exercising including running and tai chi).

I'm in a pickle because I'm suggesting representation just so we have an advocate. I have a POA Health Directive but not sure if it would apply.

His concerns:

- health care would be compromised (explained that he would get better care)

- doesn't want to litigate (per nurse friend, explained that Kaiser has opened up claim with Risk Mgmt and is following his progress... litigation is highly unlikely)

My concerns:

- he has constant pain level of 5, he is not getting better

- his walking is impeded

- he is starting to forget things

I know that there is a statue of limitations so we should be okay for 1-2 years? What should I do? Should I wait?


Experienced Mesothelioma Attorneys - SEG Law

Simon, Eddins & Greenstone, LLP, (SEG Law) is one of the country's most prominent trial law firms specializing in representing victims of cancer caused from exposure to hazardous substances such as asbestos. The firm was built on a shared passion to diligently and compassionately serve each client through every step of the legal process.

For more information visit us at SEGlaw.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search