Texas  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/10/12, 6:13 pm

My dad passed away 11-11-10 and we have not probated his will as of yet. We had to place my mom in a nursing facility with Alzheimers Disease and are in the process of trying to get Medicaid for her to help with her expenses. My dad left his half of their house to my brother and me, but the other half naturally belongs to my mom. My first question is what is the deadline for probating my dad's will - I have heard 2 years and am now hearing 5. The second part of that question is if there is any benefit to waiting as long as possible to probate his will? Thank you so much for your time and I hope this will help somebody else as well.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

166 Answers given in the last few hours.

7526 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search