New York  |  Education Law

question bubble
12/05/11, 9:31 pm

Legal Question


My daughter may have broken her ankle on November 29, there was no visible fracture in the x-rays but Orthopedics say that it could be broken because a fracture on the growth plate is almost impossible to detect.

She finally went went back to school today (12/5) and when I picked her up from school at dismissal, I found out that the chair lift that is on the stairs is out of service and there fore my daughter whom is in 2nd grade had to walk around the building to access downstairs both for an assembly and for lunch.

The more I think aout this I am upset, is this ok? For a child to walk around the building, we are in NY and her doctors note says crutches and she's out of gym for 6 weeks, so this also concerns me as it gets colder and possible snow in our area. I looked into FAPE and IDEA but can't find anything that I could use for help. I am going to call the school tomorrow and express my concerns.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search