California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
My daughter gave a girl $500 as a deposit on a vehicle so our mechanic could look it over before she agreed to buy it. The mechanic said it was not worth the money. My daughter has had the car for a week and the girl asked to come and get it today after an agreement for purchase could not be reached. When my daughter asked for the money back, the girl informed her she had spent it. We have the car, but no title and none of this is in writing, just text messaging. What should we do?


